Honoring People for their Contributions to Engineering and Society
Showcase Your Members' Achievements

The AAES awards program is an important recognition opportunity for our members. By championing your members' accomplishments you prove there is value to membership. The 2014 awards will be presented at the AAES awards banquet in Washington, D.C. on April 28, 2014.

View the 2014 award winners.

View the 2013 award winners.

AAES Award Banquet, April 22, 2013, National Academy of Engineering. AAES award winners (LtoR); Bill Salmon (AAES Chair's Award), Paul Mlakar, ASCE nominee (Norm Augustine Award), Marvin Specter, NSPE nominee (National Engineering Award), Kathryn Gray (AAES Chair), Perry McCarty, ASCE nominee (Joan Hodges Queneau Palladium Medal), John Murphy-Teixidor, ASCE nominee (AAES Engineering Journalism Award), Noha El-Ghobashy, SWE nominee (Kenneth Andrew Roe Award), and Gregory Stephanopoulos, AIChE nominee (John Fritz Medal).

Descriptions of the Seven Awards

The American Association of Engineering Societies annually presents the following awards.

National Engineering Award
The National Engineering Award is presented for inspirational leadership and tireless devotion to the improvement of engineering education and to the advancement of the engineering profession, as well as to the development of sound public policies as an engineer-statesman.

Kenneth Andrew Roe Award
The Kenneth Andrew Roe Award is presented on behalf of the engineering community to recognize an engineer who has been effective in promoting unity among the engineering societies.

Norm Augustine Award for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering Communications
This award is presented annually to an engineer who has demonstrated the capacity for communicating the excitement and wonder of engineering. The award is to be conferred on those rare individuals who can speak with passion about engineering — its promise as well as its responsibility — so that the public may have a better understanding of engineering and a better appreciation for how engineers improve our quality of life.

John Fritz Medal
The John Fritz Medal, referred to as the highest award in the engineering profession, is presented each year for scientific or industrial achievement in any field of pure or applied science. It was established in 1902 as a memorial to the great engineer whose name it bears.

AAES Engineering Journalism Award
The Engineering Journalism Award recognizes outstanding reporting of an event or issue that furthers public understanding of engineering.

Joan Hodges Queaneau Palladium Medal
The Joan Hodges Queneau Medal recognizes an individual who encourages cooperation between engineering professionals and environmentalists to create innovative solutions to environmental problems.

AAES Chair's Award
The AAES Chair's Award is presented by the AAES Chair to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the welfare of our nation.