2017 Award Winners Summary

National Engineering Award
Presented to:

Mary M. Poulton, Ph.D.
Department of Mining & Geological Engineering, University of Arizona

For advancing engineering education, including developing programs to encourage enrollment of women and underrepresented minorities in engineering and science; and for creating the Lowell Institute of Mineral Resources, an interdisciplinary facility to research applied engineering solutions for sustainable development issues.

Kenneth Andrew Roe Award
Presented to:

Vilas S. Mujumdar, D.P.A., P.E., S.E.

For his leadership contributions that have helped shape public policy for natural hazard reduction through a holistic systems approach; for representing U.S. engineers to the World Federation of Engineering Organizations and as a member in the Pan American Academy of Engineers.

Norm Augustine Award
Presented to:

Ainissa G. Ramirez, Ph.D.
Science Evangelist

For her clear passion to make engineering and science understandable to young people and the general public enabled by a splendid talent to communicate in an articulate, engaging, and meaningful manner via social media, the web, books, periodicals, and broadcasting.

John Fritz Medal
Presented to:

Frank Kreith, Doc.Univ.Paris, P.E.
Professor Emeritus, University of Colorado

For his contributions to the fields of heat transfer, solar energy and transportation via research at National Renewable Energy Lab, authoring/editing more than 15 textbooks, teaching at the University of Colorado and engagement in public policy via the National Conference of State Legislatures.

AAES Engineering Journalism Award
Presented to:

Mike Lindblom
Reporter, The Seattle Times

For educating the public on the critical role civil engineers play in managing a mega project through his comprehensive investigative series on the Alaskan Way Viaduct Replacement Project (SR 99) and “Big Bertha,” The Seattle Times, January through August 2015.

Joan Hodges Queneau Palladium Meda
Presented to:

Jessica E. Kogel, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Mining, National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety

For her leadership as chair of the World Federation of Engineering Organizations’ Task Force on Mining and Sustainability that fosters close collaboration between the global mining industry, NGOs and the local community to increase environmental stewardship, improve economic conditions and contribute to social equity.

AAES Chairs Award
Presented to:

James L. Melsa, Ph.D.
AAES 2015 Chair
Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering, Iowa State University

For long-term leadership of several AAES member societies; for providing service to AAES during a period of significant change in its governance structure; and for promoting active involvement of its member societies in the programs of AAES.